Elke Vogelsang Photography: Wieselblitz goes elkevogelsang.com!

webdesign-wordpress-fotograf

My client Elke Vogelsang wanted a new fresh design for her website, that we originally developed in 2013. We created a startpage that lets her clients choose between her two main fields – pet photography and people photography. Also a change from the original domain name: wieselblitz.de to elkevogelsang.com was wished by Elke Vogelsang. Since the relaunch of her new WordPress website in 2013 her business has taken off in part thanks to our search engine optimization. She has told me that shortly after the launch in the autumn of 2013 she has received way more requests for her services. Also thanks to her fantastic photos that she regularly posts on her Facebook and 500px profiles she has multiplied her fanbase by a huge factor. We congratulate Elke for this achievement and wish her the best for her upcoming photosessions!

Visit the page:
elkevogelsang.com

Animations for the world wide web

Why do webdesigners use vector graphics for animations?

Vector graphics are the best format to use on the web for animations due to their smaller file size in comparison to video data or simple animated pictures, like for example .gif files. Vector graphics use a sophisticated compression algorithm by displaying graphical shapes using X and Y positions. For a triangle the computer just needs to know the three positions of the end points to display a triangle that can be scaled virtually limitless without quality loss. In comparison a mere picture of the same triangle in JPEG format would increase in size by four times if you scaled it to double its size and also suffer great losses in quality and become pixelated. That is why designers use vector programs for creating fonts, logotypes and of course animations.

We have created a nice little animation below that illustrates how vector works and how small the file size of a complex web animation can be – in this case 137 kilobytes.

This movie requires Adobe Flash Player

Nowadays it is also possible to create static internet graphics in the .svg (Scalable Vector Graphics) file format. While Microsoft’s Internet Explorer kept this format (and also the .png format) from going mainstream for a while, nowadays it is fortunately implemented even in this glorious browser (Webdesigners will know what I am talking about). Nowadays Wikipedia shows most of the logos and maps in .svg format, so it is possible to scale these graphics without quality loss and put them on big posters and screens.

The main use for vector graphics on the web remains with animations nonetheless. Even though bandwidth has increased, thus making it possible to use video for a lot of websites, the use of Flash continues to this day. Major video portals like YouTube and Vimeo rely on this technology to offer their services and most of the video content on the web is still delivered this way. We acknowledge the criticism of the technology – annoying web banners, blinking popups and crashing webbrowsers due to badly scripted applications from the stone age of the net, but the advantages the technology has brought the web if used for a good cause prevail by a big margin. Nobody would condemn the invention of the printing press for all the annoying flyers and advertising that lands in our post box, so why blame a technology for the uncreative use by some of us?

Get in touch!

We would love to help you turn your vision into a graphic reality. Explaining complex circumstances by using animations and sound is a great way to reach your audience. A museum can use interactive animations to show movies about the artists to unveal the actual human being behind the paintings. The possibilities are virtually without limit. Move your clients by offering them interaction. We will do our best to make your dream come alive.

 

Graphic for funk rock band: The Lord of Lightning

lord

Graphic Design for The Lord of Lightning

For his newly released Single: “Love Ain’t a Guarantee” we created this graphic to resemble the sound of the music. You can view the music video on YouTube here. If you enjoy the track support the band and download the track on Amazon or iTunes.

More videos and songs at REVERBNATION!

Redesign für Elke Vogelsang Photography

webdesign-wordpress-fotograf

Meine Klientin Elke Vogelsang wollte ein neues frisches Design für ihre von desisn im Jahr 2013 entwickelte Website. Außerdem sollte eine Unterteilung in ihre beiden Hauptbereiche – Tierfotografie und Peoplefotografie – stattfinden. Dazu haben wir jetzt eine neue Domain registriert, so dass beide Bereiche eine eigene Domain und WordPress Installation bekommen haben und unabhängig voneinander verwaltet werden können. Beiden Seiten ist jeweils ein Auswahlmenü vorgeschaltet, wo zwischen den beiden Bereichen gewechselt werden kann. Das ist nicht nur schön, sondern auch für die Suchmaschinen gut, die so sozusagen zweimal “gefüttert” werden. Seit dem Start der Seite Ende 2013 hat nicht nur sofort – laut der Fotografin – das Weihnachtsgeschäft dank SEO spürbar angezogen, sondern die Seite hat auch dank der tollen Fotos, die Frau Vogelsang regelmässig bei Facebook und 500px veröffentlicht, sich von ca. 2500 Likes bei Facebook auf über 18000 hochkatapultiert. Dazu gratulieren wir und wünschen auch weiterhin alles Gute für kommende Fotosessions!

Zur Seite:
elkevogelsang.com

Animationen im Internet

Warum verwenden Webdesigner Vektoren für Animationen im Internet?

Vektorgrafiken bieten sich vor allem im Internet zur Erstellung von interaktiven Inhalten an, da hier die Grafiken nicht aus einzelnen Bildern bestehen, wo jeder Punkt in einem Bild abgespeichert werden muss, sondern es werden nur einzelne Positionen der Formen gespeichert, wie in einem Koordinatensystem. Also werden z.B. im Falle eines Dreiecks nur drei Punkte gespeichert werden, sowie die Farbe des Dreiecks. Das spart, vor allem wenn das Dreieck dann animiert wird und sich zum Beispiel in einen Kreis verwandeln soll, sehr viel Speicherplatz. So ermöglichen Vektoranimationen komplexe Animationen, die aufgrund der Skalierbarkeit von Vektoren auch dann noch sehr gut aussehen, wenn man Sie vergrößert.

This movie requires Adobe Flash Player

Heutzutage ist es auch möglich statische Internetgrafiken im .svg (Scalable Vector Graphic) Format darzustellen. Dies bietet sich etwa für Logos an, war allerdings lange Zeit aufgrund der fehlenden Unterstützung durch den Microsoft Internet Explorer nicht möglich.

Der Haupteinsatz für Vektorgrafiken im Internet bleiben allerdings Animationen und interaktive Webseiten. Alle großen Videoportale basieren auf der Adobe Flash Technologie zur Darstellung ihrer Videos, da diese Technologie als eine der ersten es ermöglichte Plattform unabhängig Videos darzustellen. Auch wenn es berechtigterweise viel Kritik am Einsatz der Technologie für nervige Werbebanner, blinkende Popups, schlecht geskriptete Flash Anwendungen, die im besten Fall zum Absturz des Browsers führen, und andere Geschmacksverirrungen der “Goldgräberzeit” des Internets gibt, sind die Vorteile, die die richtige Verwendung von Vektoren für die Entwicklung des Internet bietet, nicht von der Hand zu weisen.

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne dabei Ihre Visionen grafisch bewegt umzusetzen. Besonders bei komplexen Sachverhalten oder zur Produktpräsentation bieten sich interaktive Animationen und Filme an, um Ihre Kunden zu “bewegen”, sei es zum Kauf oder im Falle von Museen oder Behörden, um Informationen zugänglicher darstellen zu können und etwa historische Filme zu Künstlern zu präsentieren, um den Menschen hinter dem Kunstwerk wieder lebendig werden zu lassen.

 

Grafik für Funk Rock Band: The Lord of Lightning

lord

Grafik Design für The Lord of Lightning

Für die neue Single: “Love Ain’t a Guarantee” haben wir versucht den Sound in einer Grafik umzusetzen. Ihr könnt Euch das Video zum Track hier auf YouTube ansehen. Wenn Euch der Song gefällt, supported die Band und downloaded den Track bei Amazon oder iTunes.

Mehr Videos und Songs gibt es bei REVERBNATION!